Ramazan başladı

This morning I went to a bakery we enjoy to pick up a few snacks-I wanted to celebrate the birth of my new nephew and I figured it was too early for a drink (I’d say 9am is too early). It was slim pickings and I got what I could. At school I noticed fewer people in the cafeteria and less people smoking and finally remembered that Ramazan (Ramadan) started-a ritual fast of about 30 days. Muslims do not eat or drink when the sun is out, breaking their fast at sundown with a meal (Iftar) and before sunrise (Sahur)-in the summer the fast can last up to 17 hours. They also abstain from cigarettes, alcohol, sex and in other habits we might generally consider bad. For those of you familiar with Lent, it is similar, in that in addition to fasting, one is also to contemplate, practice self-discipline, share and help others (via charitable acts).

It is only the first day and I already felt a bit strange, ashamed of wanting to drink my water in front of my professor, waiting until she turned her back. Being unable to finish our lunch, we also took our watermelon to class only to find out that our Turkish instructor is also fasting which created another awkward moment, though I am sure we felt more awkward than he. (Especially when he ‘caught’ us eating it during the break and said ‘Afiyet olsun!’ which is a phrase you say to anybody eating-before, during, after, when they are talking about eating or buying food, pretty much all the time).

My remaining three weeks in Turkey should be interesting, then. Aside from future awkard moments that I am sure we will have, we also have to look forward to book fairs, decorated mosques and what sounds like will be a generally festive atmosphere on the streets in the evening-I am especially excited to be able to see Istanbul during Ramazan.

This weekend will be the first test of Ramazan travel as we are heading to Tokat/Amasya, in the Black Sea Region (but not on the coast). We have been assured by our hosts/coordinators that all meals have been planned. To be continued…

2 thoughts on “Ramazan başladı

  1. Well , hope you have a great weekend and a safe one at that. When you come home we will celebrate Leo’s birth. Counting the days for you return. Love you Much

  2. HELLO LETTY………… As I can tell by your writings, you are very busy and always learning something new on your area of studies. Hope you have a wonderful time celebrating your birthday and counting the days for your return. Nothing much happening. By now you probably know all that has been happening with all the family… Leo’s birth, my foot surgery, Gibby’s passing away, and a few more interesting things. You and Esteban are still coming to San Antonio to drop off the vehicle? Remember to bring four jack stands to put the vehicle up on all four wheels. If you have a tarp to cover it bring it also, this will prevent from all the sap falling and sticking to it. I hope your return is safe and you’ll have lots of fun with the baby. Take care and have a safe celebration and return.
    Love….. DAD (-:

Leave a comment